Forum

  #1  
Old 07-01-2008, 09:24 PM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
The Cheshire Kat
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 190
Angry aargh!

My computer locked up in the middle of a crypto and it took me 410 sec. to get it done finally! The main thing being that auto-fill doesn't work on the re-try page and since I had to close out the original window I couldn't hit the "back" button! I am VERY frustrated and I really hope the auto-fill feature gets fixed on the re-try page!!!!! AARGH! I need a new computer! One that works!

I'm done venting now. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-02-2008, 05:56 AM
maradnu's Avatar
maradnu maradnu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 210
Default aargh

I hit a similar situation and closed and clicked retry again and got auto-fill the second time.

This time of year in Flori-duh, we get lots of thunderstorms, with accompanying (usually) brief power outages. My computer takes forever to reboot, and when I used Mozilla to 'restore' the session, it opened a new crypto, and I had to solve that before I could even retry the one I lost due to the power outage.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-02-2008, 06:59 PM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
The Cheshire Kat
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 190
Angry aargh!

Oh that would piss me off soooo bad! It's just so frustrating for us competetive folk....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-03-2008, 01:01 AM
TONY BOY's Avatar
TONY BOY TONY BOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 30
Default autofill...

On re-do puzzles, autofill has never worked for me, so I have to go back and put all the letters in one at a time. On the last day of the June competition, I noticed I had lost my 100%, and there was a game that had registered, but never came up. I went back and solved it. It was already 40 minutes old, but it preserved 100%. It threw me from 16th to 17th on the time competiton.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-03-2008, 02:22 AM
Laura's Avatar
Laura Laura is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 99
Default Server Not Responding

I can really understand your frustration. I've been working against myself to bring my solve time down, and this afternoon had managed to bring it to 48.9. When I clicked on Check It after my last puzzle the server didn't respond, and I clicked on Retry about 7 times.

Then the phone rang. When I finally got back to Cryptograms I noticed that there was a puzzle sitting there for 3479 seconds. It was a really simple one that took about 25 seconds to solve, but my solve time went from 48.9 to 66.1!!!



Laura
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-03-2008, 04:16 AM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
The Cheshire Kat
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 190
Smile yow!

Isn't that a b*tch!!!! Well...don't worry. With the amount of times I see your name under record time solved, I'm positive you'll bring it back down. I've gotten mine from (ack) 92.2 sec. down to 51.8...Hope it stays there!! You'll be just fine!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-03-2008, 05:30 AM
Laura's Avatar
Laura Laura is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 99
Default Wow

Good for you! Going from 92.2 down to 51.8 is very impressive. Keep up the good work. It sure is inspiring -- I don't think I'll be able to get back down to 48.9 anytime soon but maybe back to 56 which is where I wound up last month.

Laura
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-03-2008, 03:04 PM
maradnu's Avatar
maradnu maradnu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 210
Default check it

I never click 'check it' anymore. When I enter my last letter, I just hit the 'enter' key and it checks it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-04-2008, 01:31 PM
ernests's Avatar
ernests ernests is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9
Default

Is there any way to check your average time?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-04-2008, 06:41 PM
maradnu's Avatar
maradnu maradnu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 210
Default Average time

To my knowledge, you can only check it for the month - under scores and monthly competitions under your id.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

About Puzzle Baron

The Puzzle Baron family of web sites has served millions and millions of puzzle enthusiasts since its inception in 2006. From cryptograms to acrostics, logic puzzles to drop quotes, patchwords to wordtwist and even sudoku, we run the gamut in word puzzles, printable puzzles and logic games.

Questions or Comments?

The word 'bought' has how many letters in it?