Forum

  #1  
Old 05-07-2009, 10:43 PM
PianoManGidley PianoManGidley is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to PianoManGidley Send a message via MSN to PianoManGidley Send a message via Yahoo to PianoManGidley
Default You know what stinks?

When I've solved a cryptogram, hit Check, and my Internet cuts out or lags to the point that the next page can't be loaded. And I try to resend, and it's still a no go. And once I DO get a new page, it's a new puzzle, and my solved puzzle doesn't count.

A pause button would also be nice, since we're timed.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-07-2009, 11:01 PM
ferrym85's Avatar
ferrym85 ferrym85 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 56
Send a message via AIM to ferrym85
Default

I agree... I think time should stop when you press the Check button. Many times I've solved a puzzle rather quickly only to have the page get hung up, thus adding A LOT of time.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-07-2009, 11:08 PM
Angie's Avatar
Angie Angie is offline
Good Boy
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 112
Default

the same happens to me and im sure many others. grrrr.. its annoying. its enough to make a crazy person go sane! sometimes i start looking like ferrym85's avatar pic
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-07-2009, 11:38 PM
pootie49's Avatar
pootie49 pootie49 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 394
Exclamation That is so true

That is an excellent idea of having time stop after hitting enter or check it...cause that is when my internet lags or cuts out too and its a royal pain in the behind to have to come back and re do one and another one as well.

Good suggestion!!
__________________
Courage is the art of being the only one who knows you're scared to death.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-07-2009, 11:43 PM
bansaisequoia's Avatar
bansaisequoia bansaisequoia is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 482
Send a message via Yahoo to bansaisequoia
Default Pause to ponder

Code:
A pause button would also be nice, since we're timed.
Reply With Quote
If we had a pause button, I don't think we'd have any record times over 10 seconds any more.

__________________
joseph k, ne'er-do-well extraordinaire
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-07-2009, 11:52 PM
Angie's Avatar
Angie Angie is offline
Good Boy
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 112
Default

yeah...im not sure about a pause button...wouldn't that allow a user to study teh puzzle with the clock stopped? if even for a second or two. i think bansai is right about the 10 second times. that is, if i am understanding what you mean about the pause button.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-08-2009, 12:46 AM
momof6's Avatar
momof6 momof6 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 39
Default pause

If we had a pause button, the fastest time would go to the fastest typist, not the fastest solver.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-08-2009, 01:12 AM
PianoManGidley PianoManGidley is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to PianoManGidley Send a message via MSN to PianoManGidley Send a message via Yahoo to PianoManGidley
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angie View Post
yeah...im not sure about a pause button...wouldn't that allow a user to study teh puzzle with the clock stopped? if even for a second or two. i think bansai is right about the 10 second times. that is, if i am understanding what you mean about the pause button.
The pause button could work like it does for www.websudoku.com, wherein pausing the puzzle takes you to another screen where you can't see the puzzle you're currently working on, until you unpause again.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-08-2009, 03:38 AM
pootie49's Avatar
pootie49 pootie49 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 394
Default Then forget the pause button

When you hit enter or check it time should stop for that puzzle, and be counted at that time!!
__________________
Courage is the art of being the only one who knows you're scared to death.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-08-2009, 04:44 AM
momof6's Avatar
momof6 momof6 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 39
Default Pause

That wouldn't stop you from jotting it down and working it out!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

About Puzzle Baron

The Puzzle Baron family of web sites has served millions and millions of puzzle enthusiasts since its inception in 2006. From cryptograms to acrostics, logic puzzles to drop quotes, patchwords to wordtwist and even sudoku, we run the gamut in word puzzles, printable puzzles and logic games.

Questions or Comments?

The word 'bought' has how many letters in it?