Forum

  #1  
Old 03-21-2014, 12:00 PM
WRQ9's Avatar
WRQ9 WRQ9 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Default Curious about crashes.

Sometimes the site crashes (or my connection fails) when entering a solved puzzle. For the past few months I've been waiting and restarting and using "retry a previous" to reload and answer again but this represents a substantial time drain. Also, it seems not perfectly effective as my percentage is still not 100% and I haven't failed to solve a puzzle in the last year.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-21-2014, 01:40 PM
montyb's Avatar
montyb montyb is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 106
Default

Which browser are you using, WRQ9? Last fall I had a similar problem with the site and discovered it was some gremlin with Internet Explorer. I switched to Firefox and the problem vanished.
__________________
"Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds." ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-21-2014, 11:23 PM
Lily H's Avatar
Lily H Lily H is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 129
Default

I used Internet Explorer too. I had problems with crashes, double loads, screens freezing up, and slowness. Last year I was on vacation at my daughter's and used her computer to play, and it only had Google Chrome loaded as the browser. I switched to it when I got home and haven't had any problems since. I heard that it's also more secure than IE, and I can browse in incognito mode.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-22-2014, 04:27 AM
montyb's Avatar
montyb montyb is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 106
Default Agreed

I also have Google Chrome at home. My school system uses Firefox. Both are fast and reliable.
__________________
"Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds." ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-22-2014, 09:49 PM
locodad's Avatar
locodad locodad is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 25
Talking not a hundered100%

My computer messed up my perfect score. I overpaid my internet and they cut it off
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-25-2014, 01:28 AM
WRQ9's Avatar
WRQ9 WRQ9 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks a lot, I haven't been paying much attention to that!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-26-2014, 10:44 AM
Annamariah's Avatar
Annamariah Annamariah is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 10
Default

I've been using either Chrome or Firefox the whole time, but still I'm getting doubles every now and then... For some reason it has gotten worse: only today it has happened at least three times! This time I've noticed them early enough to save my solving percentage (last month I didn't), but my average solving time has taken a bad hit. Anyone else having this sort of problem?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-06-2014, 08:20 AM
Quizzical Quizzical is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Anna, I too switched to Firefox and it works great. Like they say when making online transactions, only hit the button one time. I don't even trust the spinning "busy" , or lack of it, when loading a puzzle. If it does not load immediately, I go to "recent games" and scroll to the bottom to make sure. I keep a separate tab open on cryptograms specifically for this purpose. I also use the separate tab to check scores, in case I want to go back to the puzzle I just solved, as you can no longer use the browser "back" button.
My goal is 100% solve rate, so I keep working on a puzzle, no matter how long it takes. Average score is my secondary goal (which is affected by some of my very slow solve times).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-06-2014, 02:01 PM
Annamariah's Avatar
Annamariah Annamariah is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 10
Default

I must admire your dedication, Quizzical! I too want to keep my success rate in 100 percent, which is why I was very disappointed that one time I didn't notice I'd accidentally loaded a double before it was too late.

I'm pretty sure the one day doubles occured several times within a short period was due to me using touchpad instead of my mouse (I was ill and just took my laptop in bed and didn't have any proper surface to put mouse on). Apparently the touchpad somehow interpreted my clicks as double clicks every now and then. Now that I've been using mouse again, the doubles occur much less frequently.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-23-2014, 11:18 PM
raima55 raima55 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1
Default

Welcome at this forum. It is a very good community having a big collection of things that we desire. We gat knowledge about latest technology and make fun in entertainment corner. Stay blessed.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

About Puzzle Baron

The Puzzle Baron family of web sites has served millions and millions of puzzle enthusiasts since its inception in 2006. From cryptograms to acrostics, logic puzzles to drop quotes, patchwords to wordtwist and even sudoku, we run the gamut in word puzzles, printable puzzles and logic games.

Questions or Comments?

The word 'bought' has how many letters in it?