Forum


Go Back   Cryptograms Forums > Cryptograms.org Discussion > Main Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-21-2013, 03:32 AM
Lily H's Avatar
Lily H Lily H is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 129
Default

Hi Wvwoman,

Like Stephen, I too use Malwarebytes as my anti-virus program to get rid of viruses and trojans, but sometimes even it fails to locate the problem. I don't know a lot about computers, but I have learned a lot over time through trial and error and from internet forum chats. I had one particularly difficult to remove trojan that only Spybot Search and Destroy was able to remove. You can go to the CNet site to download it for free. Be sure to run the scan as an administrator. I hope that helps solve your problem for good. I don't do a lot of surfing on the internet, but I still do daily scans rather than wait for problems to arise. By the way, if you use multiple anti-malware programs like I do, you should only have one running in real time for virus detection.

Lily
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-23-2013, 03:13 AM
damsel22's Avatar
damsel22 damsel22 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 24
Default Strange occurrences on site this morning

This may be helpful-I also use Firefox, and while I didn't notice anything strange today, I become plagued with a slow browser from time to time. I have learned that it's best to just keep all of Firefox's default settings and not try to change anything, even though I may want to. Firefox just seems to run best that way.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-23-2013, 03:18 AM
wvwoman's Avatar
wvwoman wvwoman is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 161
Default hmm...

i don't even know if i still have the default settings...or even what that means, exactly!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-23-2013, 07:48 PM
damsel22's Avatar
damsel22 damsel22 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 24
Default Strange occurrences on site this morning

Wvwoman, I stumbled upon this one day when I just went to open my browser. Instead of my home page opening, the Firefox home page popped up and told me my browser seemed to be opening slowly. It then prompted me to find out more, so I clicked a link that said restore Firefox defaults. I had never seen this before! Must be some built in optimization Firefox offers its users. As an alternative, you can try going to Tools on your menu, click options, then in the startup section at the top of the dialog box, click restore defaults. I assume this feature is the same, but honestly I'm not completely sure. As with the Windows environment, there are always multiple ways of accomplishing the same objective. Good luck!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

About Puzzle Baron

The Puzzle Baron family of web sites has served millions and millions of puzzle enthusiasts since its inception in 2006. From cryptograms to acrostics, logic puzzles to drop quotes, patchwords to wordtwist and even sudoku, we run the gamut in word puzzles, printable puzzles and logic games.

Questions or Comments?

The word 'bought' has how many letters in it?