Cryptograms Forums

Cryptograms Forums (http://www.cryptograms.org/forum/index.php)
-   Main Forum (http://www.cryptograms.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   problems with internet has stopped working message (http://www.cryptograms.org/forum/showthread.php?t=730)

mikehallbackhoe 01-03-2014 07:22 PM

problems with internet has stopped working message
 
when I play cryptograms, my computer will shut down the program, and always in the middle of a puzzle . It only happens when I am playing cryptograms. I have tried to solve this problem, but I am not really computer savvy. any suggestions?

montyb 01-03-2014 07:43 PM

Michaelbackhoe,

A lot of us have had problems with the cryptogram site when using Internet Explorer. It would drop me in the middle of a puzzle; sometimes 2 or 3 times in one puzzle. And it was slow. I switched browsers. Google Chrome and Firefox have been working fine and fast. See the thread Windows 8.1 IE 11 for more info.

Good luck

mikehallbackhoe 01-03-2014 08:19 PM

thanks, I should have read the other posts, but like I said, I am not computer savvy. I have an older computer with windows 7, but I will give google chrome a try. thanks again

skoogie2 01-06-2014 05:07 PM

internet shutdown
 
I am glad to know this too. I keep getting docked for a missed puzzle because it shuts down in the middle of one. Good to know what to do.

mikehallbackhoe 01-07-2014 09:04 AM

I am unable to download google chrome.

abra 01-07-2014 03:16 PM

I switched to Firefox and then Chrome, because IE got so that it was shutting down every 3 or 4 minutes. I've had the problem before but this go-round was much worse. My percentage went down into the low 80s. I'm nowhere near a 100%er but I'm usually around 94%.

I knew I had the problem, but I never knew that it was actually only a problem with this site. How could I not have known that? Anyway, I've just upgraded my computer and it's speeding along. Any problems with my score, are all me and not the browser.

mikehallbackhoe 01-16-2014 11:42 AM

I switched to firefox, problem solved. thanks, now if I can just get the font right........

littleangel 01-21-2014 12:45 AM

I had the same issues with Explorer. I switched to Firefox, with NoScript, and no more troubles :D


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:26 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.