PDA

View Full Version : Site Relaunch - Issues and Questions


admin
04-01-2011, 07:13 PM
Well, it's been twelve hours and nothing's exploded - so that's good. :-)

There have been a few issues reported so far, so I'll keep a running tab here to keep everyone updated.

1. In IE and possibly other browsers, header text will load in one font, then a second or two later, will reload in a different font and a different size. This is a result of a script we're using called CUFON, which makes our header text "nicer looking" using a font which isn't generally available on standard browsers. I've added some code this morning to minimize this issue but it may still exist for people with slower computers, as it uses your PC's processing power to make the change. I don't know that there will ever be a perfect fix for this, apart from completely scrapping the script - which I'd prefer not to do as we've built a lot of the redesign around this new font. However, if you're having this problem and it conflicts with your gameplay experience, please let me know. I'm continuing to research it but it's hard to test, as it works without any delay on all three of my test computers.

2. Some problems with records. First, it was saying "Above Average" when you broke a new record - I've fixed that this morning, it should now say "New Record!" under performance. Second, pootie says the baron animation didn't appear for her when she broke a record - it should appear and I ran some tests now and it seemed to for me, but if you set a record and you don't see the baron in his plane immediately below your scores, please let me know (and ideally, email me a screenshot). Third, not a bug, but a clarification - the "Records" and "Forums" tabs on most pages do not update in real time, in order to save server resources. They update with new records and forum posts once every four minutes. So don't fret if you set a record and don't immediately see your name on the list. You may need to wait a few minutes and/or refresh the page.

3. Logging out would still show you as logged in on the initial pageview within the forum. Logging out was working fine, but it was giving conflicting signals by showing a "you're logged in" message at the top of the logout screen after you clicked the button to log out. I've fixed that now, I believe, so there should be no more confusion.

Any other issues or questions please feel free to post them here or email us via the contact form. Thanks for your patience!

Stephen

pootie49
04-01-2011, 08:42 PM
Okay the plane does show up.

That font thing is a bit of a pain, for IE8 users on older computer I might recommend Google Chrome, its not so noticeable there.

Thanks for the log out change.

And the avatars do they update on the records page? Not important at all just wondering.
I did set two one with an old avatar one with a new one still showing up as old avatar?

Other than that darned little arrow which bites a bit into your time, its going extremely well, thanks so so much for your hard work.

You have done a great job. Keep it up. I wish you the best success.

Thanks for a wonderful set of sites for puzzle lovers everywhere!!!:D

fishbum
04-01-2011, 09:26 PM
I miss having the quote repeated at the bottom. By the time I scroll down I have forgotten it it in not so easy to provide ratings.

pootie49
04-01-2011, 09:54 PM
That is a good point Fishbum.

Admin is there anywhere to put it on the page?

admin
04-01-2011, 09:56 PM
Okay the plane does show up.

Ok good, great to hear - one less problem to solve. :-)


And the avatars do they update on the records page? Not important at all just wondering.
I did set two one with an old avatar one with a new one still showing up as old avatar?

Again, to conserve server resources, we don't constantly load the latest avatars on every page view - they are often cached to speed things up. So if you change your avatar frequently, you may notice your old one lingers for a few hours in certain places. We may speed that up in the future if we have the bandwidth for it, but we're trying to keep things as speedy as possible, and every file we don't need to reload will make things faster for everybody.


I miss having the quote repeated at the bottom. By the time I scroll down I have forgotten it it in not so easy to provide ratings.

Good point. I will look into that and see if I can have the quote at the bottom as well. Thanks!

pootie49
04-01-2011, 10:01 PM
The quote does appear in bold print at the top of the solve page.

I never even noticed it. Sorry Admin, I didnt think it was there at all.

Im getting old yanno.

LurkerSmurf
04-01-2011, 11:39 PM
I'm used to using the tab button to get to the first letter in a puzzle. Now, I have to hit it SIX times to get there. For the time it takes to do that, I could just use the mousepad. Just a heads-up.

The new font is very easy to read, and the larger squares must help those with poor vision.

Lurker
04-01-2011, 11:44 PM
We can't make snarky comments on specific quotes anymore? There are some three-year-long conversations on some!

Never mind - just found the box. Missed it over on the right.

admin
04-02-2011, 12:28 AM
I'm used to using the tab button to get to the first letter in a puzzle. Now, I have to hit it SIX times to get there. For the time it takes to do that, I could just use the mousepad. Just a heads-up.

Good point - I should be able to fix that, will add to my list. Thanks!

admin
04-02-2011, 12:46 AM
Now fixed:

1. Hitting TAB immediately after the playing screen loads will take you directly into the first square of the puzzle.

2. "Recent Games" should no longer require you to wait 60 seconds to replay a game you may have missed.

3. We now display the revealed quote a second time, just before the "Rate This Cryptogram" area, so you can easily see the quote you're referencing.

Lurker
04-02-2011, 12:53 AM
Wow, you addressing these concerns lickety-split! And I know we're a demanding lot.

Thank you again.

Lurker
04-02-2011, 12:55 AM
Whenever I go to check my stats or Recent Games, the First 5 ad goes right over my stats box or the competiton timer. Could this be a Safari-specific problem, or does everyone have that placement?

admin
04-02-2011, 01:07 AM
Hi Lurker -

Could you possibly email me a screenshot of what you're seeing? I cannot replicate that here - and no ad should cover other content, so I'll want to fix this asap.

Lurker
04-02-2011, 01:16 AM
So now I'm not getting the First 5 ad at all, and that was the only one doing it. If it comes up again, I'll pass it along.

Let's see if I did the attachment right:

Altoid701
04-02-2011, 02:50 AM
1. Hitting TAB immediately after the playing screen loads will take you directly into the first square of the puzzle.

Wow, I never knew that was an option to begin with. I've been using my trackpad to get to the first letter since I began. Can't wait to try this out! Thanks!

Lily H
04-02-2011, 03:17 AM
Hi Stephen,

The new site design is great. Thank you for taking care of the problems so quickly. I hate to add to your list of things to do, but I am havng the same problem that Lurker was having with the First 5 California ad. I use Internet Explorer, and I have already tried refreshing my browser. I don't seem have any problems with any of the other ads.

Lily H

admin
04-02-2011, 03:42 AM
Thanks for the screenshot! I'm going through our ad networks now to try to remove that campaign - so far no luck but am continuing the search. Are you in California by any chance? I'm wondering if the ad is only targeting a certain geo-region.

Lily H
04-02-2011, 03:57 AM
Hi Stephen,

Yes, I am in California. The ad covers up the tabs at the top right on the page as well, so I cannot click on logout.

Lily H

Lurker
04-02-2011, 04:38 AM
Shows you that I don't pay attention to ads. Yes, it's a California thing, now that you mention it. Most of the country (and world) won't have this problem.

And maybe I shouldn't have brought up the Tab thing. Altoid is going to be a menace to beat in the speed category now. :)

admin
04-02-2011, 04:44 AM
Aha, I think I've found the culprit. There were a series of "First 5 California" ads on the very last network in our chain, and I've deselected them all and banned any future campaigns from that company. Unfortunately it may be another few hours before the cancellation is processed - but I'm hoping that will be the end of it. (I couldn't find the company listed in any of our other networks.)

Thanks again for helping me to pinpoint the problem - if you could let me know if you're still seeing it by Saturday morning/afternoon, that would be a big help.

pootie49
04-02-2011, 04:56 AM
Okay in the "its minor not that important get to it when you can" problems:

1. Can we have our current month stats show up first. Instead of Lifetime?? On the My Scores page?

2. On the new quotes that are not yet rated...below average is displayed. I know admin
teeny little complaint can that be changed to just average? or left blank or new stat tbd?

Now if thats all I have to bitch about then its going pretty well huh?:cool:

Thanks. You are doing super. Kudos.:)

Might I suggest a large Scotch. No ice???? lol

One more....not sure if this is on everyones solved page, but right underneath the stats box is an ad for brain
training games, with a bright red box that says Play Games...I hit that twice. LOL.
blonde thing right???
I should shup now.
Make it a double Admin.

maradnu
04-02-2011, 04:59 AM
You no longer have user stats up in the header. That is annoying, since I used that to track how many cryptos I had done and to make sure I had no double loads.

Also since the cryptos are laid out more tall than wide, I can sometimes not see the bottom of a crypto and the top in the same screen.

pootie49
04-02-2011, 05:03 AM
Maradnu,

There is a little red arrow by the title of the puzzle if you click that it moves the puzzle down allowing you to see more.

Also, on the My Scores page under This Month you get all your stats plus your time now.
Its located as a link at top of page.

admin
04-02-2011, 05:10 AM
1. Can we have our current month stats show up first. Instead of Lifetime?? On the My Scores page?

I personally think it's better the way it is - those who tend to follow their monthly stats are usually in the top 100, and will be seeing them frequently in the monthly competition standing pages. What they don't see often is their lifetime stats, so we show that first on the my scores page. If you want to view your monthly stats on that page, it's just one click away. :-)


2. On the new quotes that are not yet rated...below average is displayed. I know admin
teeny little complaint can that be changed to just average? or left blank or new stat tbd?

Yes, that's a good point - I'll fix that now. (Should be fixed now.)

admin
04-02-2011, 05:28 AM
You no longer have user stats up in the header. That is annoying, since I used that to track how many cryptos I had done and to make sure I had no double loads.

Sorry about that - this was unfortunately necessary as we recently discovered one of the major performance bottlenecks on our server was caused by us constantly recalculating each player's score, games played and games solved on every single page view. It was eating up way too many resources and slowing things down for everyone.

It's hard to get the longer puzzles to fit in a single screen on monitors with particularly low resolution. I've thought about experimenting with smaller boxes/letters, possibly removing frequency analysis to tighten things up vertically, etc. but I'm pretty sure any of those solutions would result in equally virulent outcries from other players. It may be possible to make it an option to "downsize" and remove the #s, so players can opt in/out at will - I'll see if that might be feasible for a future upgrade, but it will not be something I can throw together as a quick fix unfortunately.

fishbum
04-02-2011, 08:02 AM
I wish the screen didn't reset to the top after entering a rating requiring me to scroll back down to enter further ratings..

admin
04-02-2011, 04:24 PM
I wish the screen didn't reset to the top after entering a rating requiring me to scroll back down to enter further ratings..

Another good point, and now fixed. Thanks!

fishbum
04-02-2011, 10:25 PM
Seems I am on a roll so what about enhancing the font for comments. Perhaps at least bold.
Thanks.

admin
04-02-2011, 10:34 PM
Seems I am on a roll so what about enhancing the font for comments. Perhaps at least bold.
Thanks.

Hi fishbum - not sure I follow? Which part do you think should be enhanced? I've already got the special font on the header for "Comments" and "Add Your Comments". Maybe we're talking about different things though.

fishbum
04-03-2011, 02:47 AM
The author's name could be emphasized a little more and the actual comment seems to be in the same font as the other boilerplate - doesn't stand out. In the old format the info was more emphatic and stood out more and I enjoyed reading them but now it seems that I have to search them out. Thanks for listening.

Altoid701
04-03-2011, 05:21 PM
I too am having the same problem that maradnu is having, in that I cannot see the full quote. I think part of my problem is that I'm using an 11 inch screen. :) I already did the control-minus trick to make the font smaller, and that helped in most cases, but there are still some quotes that are too long and if I make the font any smaller I won't be able to read it. Since I solve for time I would really like to be able to see the whole quote without having to use my mouse to click the tiny red arrow or scroll down. Is there any way that you could create a keyboard shortcut that would do the same thing as clicking the red arrow? Kinda like how pressing tab gets you to the first letter, except this one would scroll the page down to the beginning of the quote. If not, I completely understand. :)

Lurker
04-03-2011, 06:16 PM
Might I recommend shift-Tab, since that takes you to the bottom of the page anyway? Is there any way to reprogram the function as a centering shortcut? Besides, then Shift-Tab followed by just Tab would be perfect for getting to the start of a puzzle.

admin
04-03-2011, 07:48 PM
More good suggestions... you're certainly keeping me busy! :-)

Ok - code released just now, if you hit the EQUAL key on your keyboard once the play page loads, it should do the following:

- Auto-focus the screen so that the puzzle is vertically centered as much as possible on your monitor
- Auto-place the cursor focus in the very first box of the puzzle.

Sorry it's sort of a weird key, but I can't use arrow keys, space, tab or anything else that has a "normal" browser function. Equal (=) seemed to be the best option.

I've tested in Firefox, IE, Chrome and Safari - and so far so good. But let me know if you notice any funky doings.

Cheers -

Stephen

Lily H
04-03-2011, 08:34 PM
Thank you Stephen for listening to our suggestions (and complaints) and making changes to accomodate us. The new site design and upgrade is great. I've noticed so far that I haven't had any double loads either, so maybe that problem has been eliminated too. Also recent games appears immediately, so we no longer have to wait several minutes for missed quotes to show up before we log out. You've done a great job, and the site is much better than before. Kudos!

Altoid701
04-03-2011, 08:34 PM
I'm using chrome and it works great! Thanks! You certainly are on top of things.

pootie49
04-03-2011, 09:23 PM
Thanks for all the hard work, the fast responses, the fixes. We all appreciate the work
you have done.

Kudos!

Lurker
04-04-2011, 04:10 AM
The equal-sign function is great. Takes a second to adjust, but is much quicker than mousing (Pootie's word) to the red arrow. And the reach is similar to using the Tab with the other hand. We'll have to remember to share this periodically with newcomers, since it's kind of a hidden trick.

pootie49
04-06-2011, 05:49 AM
A few of us have not seen our messages, the little number beside messages doesn't show up very clearly.

Is there anyway of bringing back the mailbox or making the messages more noticeable?

Thanks.

pootie49
04-06-2011, 07:03 AM
These are my current stats on the High Score Page
April 5, 2011, 11:54 pm 1600/1600 100% 34.1 sec. 287.9 pts. 460768

And these are the stats on the monthly My Scores page
Total Points:
460768 points
Total Played:
1600 puzzles
Total Solved:
1600 puzzles
Success Rate:
100%
Average Time:
34.2 seconds

Huh?????

Lurker
04-06-2011, 03:55 PM
That happens to me all the time, Pootie. There's a lag time before the personal stats screen catches up. Kind of like how record times take a few minutes. The Monthly Competitions screen is the instant update; go with that. It's what I used to use to check if I was missing a game before the Recent Games link got better.

admin
04-06-2011, 05:51 PM
Good catch. It looks like both pages use slightly different code methods to do the rounding - you must have been at exactly the mid point between 31.1 and 31.2, and one method rounded up and the other down. I'll put it on my list to standardize and use the same method on al pages.

pootie49
04-07-2011, 03:41 AM
Thank you.

And the private messages? Is there anything that can highlight them?
Are you able to bring the mailbox back?

And again thanks for the timely responses and fixes.

bansaisequoia
04-09-2011, 11:27 PM
When I accidentally click on FAQ, a new crypto does not load. Way kewl!

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_VM6uNQhhxrI/TGmIVCWqMAI/AAAAAAAAARM/tnM02UgGer0/S1600-R/KEWL.jpg

fishbum
05-17-2011, 03:12 AM
I know this a fairly old thread but I would like to see the "Rating" requoted after a successful solution. It would be nice to know that one solved a 'Difficult' crypto with some facility. Perhaps somewhere in the area of the "Congratulation..." statement.

Lurker
05-17-2011, 04:22 AM
You can kind of guess the rating based on the points you got from it. Up to 150: Easy. Up to 250: Average. Somewhere in the 300-400s: Difficult. That is, unless you spent hours on the quote and that brought your score down.

fishbum
05-17-2011, 06:53 AM
Thanks for the tip but I am the guy who usually broadens the curve way out.

Lacon
07-14-2011, 07:24 PM
Admin,

Re. the new site design:

The column on the right is neat, including the little author's bio section. That must have taken a scary amount of work.

For me, the red Check button disappears altogether when the mouse icon hovers over it. My browser is Firefox 5.0 with NoScript (cryptograms.org allowed).

The alphabet below the puzzle can get out of sync, often containing several letters that are in use in a partially solved puzzle.

I'm not complaining. The site has given hours of enjoyment.

pootie49
07-15-2011, 07:16 PM
Is there any way to incorporate the mailbox back into the new layout?

We arent seeing our messages until days after they are sent sometimes.

If its not possible to put the actual mailbox back, is there anyway you could change the colour of "Messages" to green or red even or highlight it somehow??

Just wondering.

Thanks Admin. :)

Also to Lacon,

The disappearing check it box is a feature I believe, I have it on Google Chrome as well. You might want to try just hitting enter after
completing a puzzle, its a bit faster.
I have noticed the remaining letter list is not updating as well. This was in issue for some on the old site design, and its re appearing here.
However its intermittent and does tend to correct itself when you enter a new letter.

Pootie
10-11-2011, 09:02 PM
On the My Scores page, under the current month, would it be possible to show our ranking for the month??

Since everything else updates quickly, just another line with where we are currently standing would be nice so we dont have to page out and go to High Scores to see it.

Thanks Admin, nice to see you btw. How ya been? Good?