PDA

View Full Version : Lost puzzles


bpoppy
01-09-2009, 05:36 PM
Does anyone know how you lose puzzle completions. I logged off yesterday at 100% and logged on this morning and it showed 4 incompletes with no way to make them up. I searched for recent puzzles but it show all were complete. This has happened to me a few times before. Please help this is very frustrating

Laura
01-10-2009, 02:01 AM
Bpoppy, the recent games list will only display cryptograms that you started within the last 2 hours. So if you check the next morning, that period has already expired.

It's probably a good idea to check the Recent Games at least every few cryptograms to make sure there aren't any unsolved ones floating around in crypto cyberspace. If you're also concerned about speed, check more often because you'll be racking up more seconds the longer they stay unsolved.

Anyway, happy solving!!

:)

kat
01-10-2009, 02:11 AM
I have noticed that if I accidentally double-click on the "would you like to try another cryptogram" button that it will double load puzzles, but they won't show up on the recent games list for a minute. They generally don't show up until I go to the scores page back to the recent games page once or even sometimes two or three times. I like to keep an eye on the total number of games I have solved.

Laura's advice was right on the money. If you keep checking every few puzzles then hopefully no more missing puzzles will be troubling you.

Good Luck!

-Kat:)

maradnu
01-10-2009, 04:04 AM
I constantly watch my attempted and completed games totals. I never double click anything. I don't click 'would you like to try another cryptogram'. I always click "play" at the top right side of the screen. As a rule, I don't get double puzzles. Don't know if I am just lucky, or if the above helps.

Laura
01-16-2009, 12:29 AM
I always check the scores page and don't begin a new cryptogram unless the score is at 100%. Today I noticed that it had gone down to 99% and when I checked the retry games list, there were 3 listed as beginning before the last one I played.

I don't quite understand what this means, but it seems like the scores page may have been incorrect? The lost games should have appeared immediately. The weird thing is that it happened again a few cryptograms later. :confused:

I'm very careful not to double-click on Play, because when I forget there's a good chance that 2 games will load. Now I'm going to be even more careful -- the lost seconds were piling up and my solve time went down by .02% :eek: